Found Motive

← All playbooks

Release a song with cover art and a lyric video

Last verified Oct 15, 2026.

  • One song (Suno, ~10 generations to get a keeper), 8 cover-art options, 12 five-second visual clips (6 shots × 2 takes) cut across the track.
  • Prices are for one month of each subscription. Retakes cost extra in proportion.

1. Workflow

  1. Write the lyrics and a one-paragraph brief (genre, mood, tempo, references) for the song.

    Tool
    Claude (ChatGPT or Grok work too)
    Why
    Claude is #1 on LMArena Creative Writing (score 1519 ±15, Oct 15 2026; #2 is within error). Free plan is enough for lyrics.
    Cost
    Free plan $0; Claude Pro $20/month.

    Paste into ChatGPT, Claude or Grok.

    Preview prompt: Suno lyrics + style prompt
  2. Generate the song in Suno (v6) from the lyrics and style prompt. Make several generations, keep the best, download the audio.

    Tool
    Suno
    Why
    Suno v6 is #1 on Artificial Analysis AA-Music-Vocal (Elo 1146). Paid Pro plan is what includes commercial rights and downloads.
    Cost
    Pro $8/mo billed yearly; ≈$10 billed monthly (our arithmetic). One generation = 10 credits = 2 songs.
  3. Make the cover art: generate 6-10 square options from the song's mood and title, pick one, check it reads at thumbnail size.

    Tool
    ChatGPT image or Grok Imagine (Midjourney if you prefer its look)
    Why
    GPT Image 2.5 is #1 on AA Image Arena (Elo 1218); Grok Imagine Image is the cheapest priced option. Midjourney is left unpriced: its plans are metered in Fast GPU hours and images per hour is not published.
    Cost
    Grok API $0.02/image; GPT Image ≈$0.21/image (AA API figure). Midjourney Basic $10/mo, cost per image not sourced.

    Paste into ChatGPT, Claude or Grok.

    Preview prompt: Cover art prompts
  4. Generate short looping visuals from the cover art (5-second clips: slow camera moves, particles, lyric-related scenes) to cut across the track.

    Tool
    Higgsfield (Wan 3.0 / Seedance) or Grok Imagine Video
    Why
    Image-to-video keeps the look of the cover. Grok Imagine Video 1.5 Lite is the cheapest priced route; Wan 3.0 ranks #1 on AA.
    Cost
    Grok Lite $0.10 per 5 s clip; Wan 3.0 ≈$1.00 per 5 s (AA 1080p). Higgsfield app credits per clip: not sourced.

    Paste into ChatGPT, Claude or Grok.

    Preview prompt: Looping visuals prompts
  5. Build the lyric video: put the lyrics on screen as timed text over the visuals, cut footage to the audio, export 16:9 and 9:16.

    Tool
    A video editor (e.g. CapCut, Clipchamp; not one of our tools)
    Why
    None of our six tools times lyrics to audio. Claude can also generate a text-animation lyric video through code, per a creator post (see learn list).
    Cost
    cost not sourced (we did not price an editor).
  6. Check rights and metadata: confirm your Suno plan covers commercial release, write title/credits, export WAV/MP3 and artwork at the sizes your distributor asks for.

    Tool
    Suno (plan terms) + Claude (checklist)
    Why
    Free-plan Suno songs have no commercial rights; the rights come from the plan you generated on.
    Cost
    $0 beyond the plan.
  7. Upload song, cover art and lyric video to a distributor and to YouTube, schedule the release date.

    Tool
    A music distributor + YouTube (not our tools)
    Why
    Needed to reach streaming services; we have not priced distributors.
    Cost
    cost not sourced.

2. Recommended tool chain

  1. Claude (ChatGPT or Grok work too)
  2. Suno
  3. ChatGPT image or Grok Imagine (Midjourney if you prefer its look)
  4. Higgsfield (Wan 3.0 / Seedance) or Grok Imagine Video
  5. A video editor (e.g. CapCut, Clipchamp; not one of our tools)
  6. Suno (plan terms) + Claude (checklist)
  7. A music distributor + YouTube (not our tools)

3. Total cost

Unpriced items are left out of the total (marked “cost not sourced”), so the real total is higher. All totals are our arithmetic from sourced unit prices.

Cheapest route

$11.36 before unpriced items

Our arithmetic: sum of the sourced line items only; lines marked 'cost not sourced' are excluded, so the real total is higher.

Cheapest route uses free Claude, Suno Pro for one month, and xAI API unit prices for art and video (API key needed).

Editing and distribution are not priced, so the real total is higher.

Line items (6)
  • Step 1 lyrics & brief: Claude Free: $0.00

    Our arithmetic: Claude Free plan = $0 (our arithmetic)

    Free plan has usage limits; an occasional draft fits.

    Source: Anthropic: Claude pricing, checked Oct 15, 2026

  • Suno Pro, 1 month (needed for commercial rights and downloads; Free plan has neither): $10.00

    Our arithmetic: $8/month billed yearly = $96/yr; Suno's page says billing yearly saves $24, so monthly billing = $96 + $24 = $120/yr ÷ 12 = $10/month (monthly price not shown in page text) (our arithmetic)

    Credit use inside the plan: 10 generations × 10 credits = 100 of 2,500 credits (= 20 songs). Pro includes 20 downloads/month (costs.json, from Suno's page). Annual billing would be $96 up front. Suno's page does not state a song length.

    Source: Suno: Pricing, checked Oct 15, 2026

  • Step 3 cover art: Grok Imagine Image, 8 options: $0.16

    Our arithmetic: 8 images × $0.02 = $0.16 (our arithmetic)

    xAI API 'starting at' $0.02/image (grok-imagine-image). Needs an xAI API key; Grok app plans have no published per-image price.

    Source: xAI docs: Models & pricing, checked Oct 15, 2026

  • Step 4 visuals: Grok Imagine Video 1.5 Lite, 12 clips of 5 s (6 shots × 2 takes): $1.20

    Our arithmetic: 12 clips × (5 s × $0.020/s = $0.10) = $1.20 (our arithmetic)

    Grok Imagine Video 1.5 Lite, xAI API. Ranked 17th on AA (Elo 999); xAI does not state the output resolution for this rate.

    Source: xAI docs: Models & pricing, checked Oct 15, 2026

  • Step 5 lyric-video editing: cost not sourced

    Our arithmetic: cost not sourced

    No editor priced.

    No source, checked Oct 15, 2026

  • Step 7 distribution: cost not sourced

    Our arithmetic: cost not sourced

    No distributor priced.

    No source, checked Oct 15, 2026

Best-quality route

$43.69 before unpriced items

Our arithmetic: sum of the sourced line items only; lines marked 'cost not sourced' are excluded, so the real total is higher.

Best-quality route: top-ranked model per step on Artificial Analysis / LMArena (Claude Opus 5.5, Suno v6, GPT Image 2.5, Wan 3.0). Suno is the same cost on both routes because the cheapest option is also top-ranked.

Higgsfield app subscriptions (Starter $19, Plus $59/month) are not used in the total because credits per clip are not sourced.

Line items (6)
  • Step 1 lyrics & brief: Claude Pro, 1 month (Opus 5.5): $20.00

    Our arithmetic: Claude Pro $20/month billed monthly ($17/month if billed annually, $200 up front)

    Source: Anthropic: Claude pricing, checked Oct 15, 2026

  • Suno Pro, 1 month (needed for commercial rights and downloads; Free plan has neither): $10.00

    Our arithmetic: $8/month billed yearly = $96/yr; Suno's page says billing yearly saves $24, so monthly billing = $96 + $24 = $120/yr ÷ 12 = $10/month (monthly price not shown in page text) (our arithmetic)

    Credit use inside the plan: 10 generations × 10 credits = 100 of 2,500 credits (= 20 songs). Pro includes 20 downloads/month (costs.json, from Suno's page). Annual billing would be $96 up front. Suno's page does not state a song length.

    Source: Suno: Pricing, checked Oct 15, 2026

  • Step 3 cover art: GPT Image 2.5, 8 options: $1.69

    Our arithmetic: 8 images × $0.21072 (AA representative API price $210.72 per 1,000) = $1.68576 → $1.69 (our arithmetic)

    GPT Image 2.5 (max) is #1 on AA Image Arena, Elo 1218. Price is AA's API figure; ChatGPT plans have no published per-image price.

    Source: Artificial Analysis: text-to-image (Image Arena Elo, representative API price), checked Oct 15, 2026

  • Step 4 visuals: Wan 3.0, 12 clips of 5 s (6 shots × 2 takes): $12.00

    Our arithmetic: 12 clips × (5 s × $12.00/min ÷ 60 = $1.00) = $12.00 (our arithmetic)

    Wan 3.0 is #1 on AA-Video-T2V (Elo 1174, with audio). Price is AA's 1080p API rate. Higgsfield's API lists Wan 3.0 from $0.050/s (= $0.25 per 5 s; resolution not stated) and 60% off until Oct 31 — see caveats; Higgsfield app credits per clip are not sourced.

    Source: Artificial Analysis: AA-Video-T2V leaderboard, checked Oct 15, 2026

  • Step 5 lyric-video editing: cost not sourced

    Our arithmetic: cost not sourced

    No editor priced.

    No source, checked Oct 15, 2026

  • Step 7 distribution: cost not sourced

    Our arithmetic: cost not sourced

    No distributor priced.

    No source, checked Oct 15, 2026

4. Current promos

  • Suno annual billing: save 20%

    Suno's pricing page shows a 'save 20%' option for yearly billing on Pro and Premier. Standing discount, not a time-limited sale.

    Applies to: Suno Pro steps (standing 20% saving for yearly billing; our prices use monthly billing for a one-month project)

    Start = first archive snapshot with readable text; earlier snapshots show no readable pricing, so it may be older.

    Source: suno.com/pricing (Wayback 2025-09-01), checked Oct 15, 2026

  • Claude Pro annual billing: $17/month vs $20 monthly

    Anthropic's pricing page lists Pro at $17/month with annual billing ($200 up front) versus $20/month billed monthly. This is a standing discount, not a limited-time sale.

    Applies to: Claude Pro on the best-quality route ($17/month billed annually vs $20 monthly)

    Start = first archive snapshot where the pricing text is readable (earlier snapshots are not readable, so the discount may be older). Standing, no end date.

    Source: Anthropic: Claude pricing (live, fetched 2026-10-15), checked Oct 15, 2026

  • Wan 3.0: free week of unlimited use on Pro and above; 60% off API (ends Oct 31, 2026)

    Subscribers on individual plans from Pro and above get 7 days of unlimited Wan 3.0 and Wan 3.0 Prime; API users get 60% off the model until Oct 31, 2026.

    Applies to: Video-generation steps that use Wan 3.0 on Higgsfield (subscriber window and API 60% off to Oct 31)

    Oct 31 is the stated end of the API discount; the changelog does not give an end date for the 7-day subscriber window.

    Source: Higgsfield changelog: 'Unlimited Wan 3.0 for 7 days and 60% off on the API' (Oct 13, 2026), checked Oct 15, 2026

  • The X Subscription: Grok, Cursor and X Premium in one plan

    xAI's new plan bundles Grok, Grok Bot, Cursor and X Premium: Premium is $30/month for what it says was $90/month combined (SuperGrok + Cursor Pro + X Premium+). Existing subscribers can keep their plan or switch, with limited-time switching offers shown in billing settings.

    Applies to: Only if you use Grok through a consumer plan; our routes use the xAI API unit prices

    The xAI page shows no visible date; the 2026-10-13 start comes from the TechCrunch URL date. The switching offers' terms are not public.

    Source: xAI: Introducing The X Subscription (live, fetched 2026-10-15), checked Oct 15, 2026

  • ChatGPT Plus: 4 free months for US college students (Back to School 2026) (ends Oct 31, 2026)

    Eligible US college and graduate students get four free monthly billing periods of ChatGPT Plus if they claim by October 31, 2026. It renews at $20/month unless cancelled.

    Applies to: Only if you use ChatGPT plans and qualify as a US college student; claim by Oct 31, 2026

    Start = first archive snapshot of the 2026 offer page; the offer may have opened earlier. End date is the claim-by deadline (the free months run after claiming).

    Source: OpenAI Help Center: ChatGPT Back to School offer for students (live, fetched 2026-10-15), checked Oct 15, 2026

  • Midjourney annual plan: 20% off

    Midjourney's plan comparison page says you can get a 20% discount by committing to an annual plan, paying the full year up front. Standing discount.

    Applies to: Midjourney steps (standing 20% saving for yearly billing)

    Start = first archive snapshot found; the discount may be older.

    Source: Midjourney docs (Wayback 2025-02-15): Comparing Midjourney Plans, checked Oct 15, 2026

5. Learn it

Last verified Oct 15, 2026. Items older than 30 days are marked.

Step 2: Suno

Step 3: ChatGPT image or Grok Imagine (Midjourney if you prefer its look)

Step 4: Higgsfield (Wan 3.0 / Seedance) or Grok Imagine Video

Step 5: A video editor (e.g. CapCut, Clipchamp; not one of our tools)

6. Caveats and assumptions

  • Suno song length is not stated on the pages we read; check that one generation covers your song.
  • Suno's Black Friday page (suno.com/hub/suno-black-friday-deals, claims 40% off Nov 24-Dec 1) contradicts itself and is unverified; we do not list it as a promo.
  • AA music ranking covers songs with vocals only.
  • Lyric-video text timing and distribution costs are not sourced.
  • Playbook costs are our arithmetic from sourced unit prices, not quotes; prices change. Subscription lines are one month unless stated.
  • Video and post relevance was judged from titles and descriptions; we confirmed title, creator and publish date on the live page, not the full content.

Last verified Oct 15, 2026.

Get the weekly roundup

New deals and price changes, in one short email.

Newsletter delivered by beehiiv. Prefer a plain page? Subscribe here. See our privacy page.